The newly formed All India Senior Selection Committee met on Tuesday to select a team for the first two test matches against England in Chennai.

After taking the Adelaide test, Kohli returned to India from paternity leave and was selected for the 18-man team with pace pioneer Jasprit Bumrah, who missed the final test against Australia in Brisbane due to an abdominal strain.

Starting in Chennai on February 5th, the team has only been named after the first two tests in the four-game series.

Ishant missed the Australian Tour due to the side bend he suffered during the IPL game in the UAE, while Pandya only played ODI and T20Is Down Under.

Tamil Nadu infantry T Natarajan was dismissed because the selection team dropped the left arm spinner and useful hitter Axar Patel The lineup, because he will be more effective against England on the Indian pitches.

The team is as follows: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

The Committee also picked five net bowlers and five players as standbys.

Net Bowlers: Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, Krishnappa Gowtham, Saurabh Kumar

Standby players: K S Bharat, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Chahar, Priyank Panchal